eDesk will help you improve your team's collaboration by creating user accounts for each one of your employees.

This help file will guide you through managing the Users section in your Company Settings.


Before you start

 
  • You’ll need an Admin login to eDesk to manage users. If you don’t have an Admin login, you can request one from an Admin user within your business.
     


01The eDesk Users section

To open the settings for Users, go to Settings → Company Settings → Users.  This is where you can disable user accounts, re-enable user accounts, invite new users, permanently delete user accounts, and manage all of the user accounts in your company.
Company Settings > UsersThe user accounts are listed under 3 tabs:

Active are the users with live accounts and that can access eDesk currently.
Inactive are the users with inactive accounts and that cannot access eDesk currently.
Pending Requests are the users that are waiting for an invite to be sent.

For each user, you can view the following information:

  • User
    Avatar and name of the user. Admin users are denoted by a crown icon.

  • Email
    Their email address. This email address is usually their company email address.

  • Role
    The role you have assigned to this user in your company.

  • Status
    A tick indicates the user is able to login.
    An hourglass indicates the user is able to login.
    A red cross indicates the user is able to login.

  • Mailbox
    A tick indicates the user can access their messages in Mailbox.
    A red cross indicates the user cannot access their messages in Mailbox.

  • Channels
    The channels that are available to the user. These are set by an Admin user within your company.

You can also perform the following:
 
  • To reorder the listing of users, click the sort icon to the right of the title in the User, Email, Role, or Status columns. 

  • To view permissions for the user roles that may be assigned to the users, click Find out what permissions each role has.

  • To create a new user account and invite the user to start using eDesk, click Invite users. For instructions on creating new users, click here.

  • To edit or permanently delete an existing user account, click the ellipsis ... at the end of the row. 

02 Managing your existing Users

Clicking the ellipsis at the end of a row for a user in Settings → Company Settings → Users opens the Edit User page.

  • To delete the user account permanently, click Delete this user at the bottom of the screen. Alternatively, you can temporarily disable the user account, see the Active checkbox below. 

  • To edit the user account, make changes to the settings described below, and then click Save Changes.

The settings for individual users are grouped under a number of tabs; these tabs are determined by the features and products that have been made available to the user. In the example below, the tabs are General, Permissions, and Mailbox.
Edit User page
General

  • First Name
    The user's first name.

  • Last Name
    The user's second name.

  • Email
    The user's email address.

  • Change Password
    Click to send a reset password link to the email address.

  • Timezone
    The timezone that the user is in.

  • Preferred Language
    Their preferred language. Changing it means that the eDesk interface will be automatically translated into the user's preferred language (when available).

  • Active
    This is where you can enable or temporarily disable a user account.
    If ticked, the user account is active and can log into eDesk.
    Untick to disable the account and make it inactive. 

Permissions
This tab is where you can assign or change the user role and permissions assigned to the user. 
To find out all about Roles, click here
To find out what each permission does, click here

Mailbox
This tab contains settings that allow Admin users to configure some of the Mailbox settings for the user.  The settings are described below.

Note: The user may also configure some of their Mailbox settings by going to Settings → My Account → Mailbox. To find out more, click here.

  • Enabled
    If ticked, the Mailbox is enabled and accessible by that user. Untick to disable the Mailbox so that the user cannot access it.

  • Enabled Channels
    The list of channels that this user will have access to.

  • Enable channel restriction for chat
    If ticked, the user will not see messages in eDesk Chat that are from channels that they cannot access.

  • Enable all eBay case actions
    To find out about eBay case restrictions and learn about this setting, click here.

  • Auto-select reply template
    If ticked, then a reply template is automatically selected by default in the reply box for the ticket. This is the template displayed at the very top of the user's Templates list.

  • Languages I understand
    Click to open the menu where you can select one or more languages that the user already speaks.
    eDesk uses this if Auto-translation is enabled; any messages that are in the languages selected here are not auto-translated. To find out more about Auto-translation, click here.

  • Hide tickets in other languages
    If you don't want the user to see tickets in languages they don't understand, tick this checkbox. These tickets will be displayed in the Mailbox for other users, as long as their Mailbox settings permit.

  • Leave ticket open by default
    If ticked, then for this user, the Close Ticket checkbox in the reply box for a ticket will not contain a tick. This means that they will need to tick the Close Ticket checkbox or manually close the ticket after they reply.

  • Send me an email when someone assigns a ticket to me
    If ticked, when the user is made the owner of a ticket by another user or by a Message Rule, they will be automatically notified by email. To find out more about Message Rules, click here.

  • Allow user to access
    Select one or more tags that the user will have access to. If no tags are selected here, then the user can access all tags.

  • Don't assign on these dates
    Set a time period of a minimum of 1 day. This is used in Message Rules that assign tickets by round-robin, where the round-robin will not assign tickets to this user during the specified time period. An example of use is when the user will be on vacation. To find out more about our Round Robin feature, click click here.

  • Working Hours
    Enter the user's daily working hours here, e.g., Monday 09:00 to Monday 17:00, Tuesday 08:30 to Tuesday 16:30, etc. The timezone is set in Settings → Company Settings → Company. Working hours are used by Message Rules that assign tickets by round-robin. To find out more about our Round Robin feature, click here. Only tickets that arrive within the user's working hours are assigned to them by the round-robin. 


Further Readings


If you would like to find out how to add Users in eDesk, click here.

To learn how to delete an eDesk user account, click here.